normal PEGylated protein

More
4 years 11 months ago #8095 by jk
PEGylated protein was created by jk
Hi all,

I am new to CG simulations and would like to coarse grain a protein with a covalently attached mPEG polymer. I know that I can coarse grain the protein part of my system using martinize.py and there are also itp files for PEG molecules and PEGylated lipids available. What would be the easiest way to construct such a system? Do I need to prepare my protein and a PEG polymer separately and somehow manually add a covalent bond between them afterwards? Or would it be possible to modify martinize.py so that it can automatically coarse grain the PEG monomers of the protein to EO beads? Ideally, I would also like to try out the GoMartini force field (based on elnedyn) on my system.

Thank you in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 11 months ago #8098 by fgrunewald
Replied by fgrunewald on topic PEGylated protein
Hey,

Yes should be easy enough. I suppose you can modify martinize but unless you want to scan hundreds of proteins I don't think it's worth it. So I suggest you prepare your protein and then add the polymer part. If you have the protein itp file you can use this program github.com/fgrunewald/Martini_PolyPly to append the polymer part.

Once you installed the program use the following command to generate the polymer of length N attached to the protein:

polyply -itp protein.itp peg_monomer.itp -n_mon 1 N -o mPEG_protein.itp -name protein -endgroup end.itp end.itp -links link.itp

You can get the peg_monomer.itp from here:

github.com/fgrunewald/Martini_PolyPly/bl...ps/PEO.martini.2.itp