normal lipid bilayer minimization

• ipsita
  • ipsita's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 3 months ago #3113 by ipsita
lipid bilayer minimization was created by ipsita
Sir,
I'm a beginner in coarse graining and also in gromacs. I've an all atom lipid bilayer structure which I converted to a CG model using MARTINI. Now when I start the minimization process with the em.mdp file supplied in your tutorial, the bilayer structure is just reversed i.e
tail-head-water-head-tail instead of
water-head-tail-tail-head-water.
When I turn off pbc , then the structure is okay.
So what should I do or change in the mdp file to ix the problem?
Please help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 3 months ago #3114 by xavier
Replied by xavier on topic lipid bilayer minimization
From what you describe it does not seem that the inversion you describe is real. It is a simple effect of pbc.

If you translate your system by a few nm in the right direction you'll replace the position of the box in respect to the center of the bilayer and thus the bilayer would not be separate the same day.

trjconv and editconv may help you play with this translation.

• ipsita
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 3 months ago #3215 by ipsita
Replied by ipsita on topic lipid bilayer minimization
Sir, I checked the coordinate of the center of mass, it is 0.0025 -0.0001 0.0073. So why should I translate the system? And still the problem is same. It is okay without pbc. What should I do?

More
10 years 3 months ago - 10 years 3 months ago #3217 by Clement
Replied by Clement on topic lipid bilayer minimization
It's not a simulation problem. It's a visualization issue. Think Periodic Boundary Images, switch some images on in VMD for instance if you need to visualize it: your system is still the same.